Howdy howdy from Podaegi.wordpress.com!

January 26, 2010 podaegi

Howdy everyone.

My name is Min Jung Kim and I am a longtime blogger and first time mom.  I’ve been blogging for nearly 10 years and have only recently become a mother to a wonderful little girl named Amelia.  I’m still getting used to the idea of being a Mommy-Blogger though my baby is now nearly 8 months old and I blog and tweet about her pretty regularly.

I’ve recently become obsessed with Podaegi’s which are the traditional Korean baby carrier/wrap that I remember being carried in when I was little.

Podaegi, Poddaegi, Poddegi, Podegi, 포대기.

It’s pronounced Poh-Deh-Ggi.e)

Amelia’s nearly grown out of her front-carried Bjorn (a fine device, to be sure) but I find it still a little cumbersome and unweildy having her up front with her fingers grabbing at everything and her feet kicking at me.

A Podaegi is great in terms of handling and carrying children as they grow as a toddler and makes it great for walking about with each other.  Effectively it’s a very secure piggyback ride supported by a blanket.


Image Source – OhMyNews.com


Image Source – Women.or.kr


Image Source – Auction.co.kr

Podaegi’s are so prevalent in Korea that they even make Podaegi’s for children to backstrap their teddybears and dolls in.

More info to come as I blog about all things Podaegi!
Hai!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
 
